Homepage » Programme Syllabus



The programme of studies includes coursework and research. Two semesters (Winter & Spring) of taught classes are followed by the research and writing of the postgraduate dissertation (from June to end of September). Students are required to select at least three courses each semester, making a total of six over the academic year. Each course counts for 10 ECTS. The exclusive language of instruction and examination of the Programme is English. Classes take place on weekdays after 4.30 p.m.

  • Winter Semester: from end of September till January

European Union Enlargement to South Eastern Europe.

Interconnected Histories:  The Balkans and The Black Sea from the Eighteenth to  the Twentieth Century. 

Political Change, Democracy and Crisis in Southeast Europe.

Economic Transition Pathways in Southeastern Europe: Disruptions, Challenges, Prospects.

  • Spring Semester: from February till the end of May

Nationalism in Southeastern Europe.

Post-conflict Southeastern Europe: Memories, Identities, Policies.

Contemporary Turkey.

Greek Politics: Crisis and Change.

Guest lectures

  • Summer: from June till the end of September

Each student is required to submit a thesis of 12,000-15,000 words(not including bibliography) on a topic directly concerned with Southeastern Europeand in one of the academic disciplines covered in the Programme. The thesis counts for 15 ECTS.